Agreement on telecommunications

Agreement within the framework of technical dialogue
Date of signing: September 8, 2013

Agreement status:
The agreement has been implemented to a large extent

Parties / delegations

Ivica Dacic - Normalizacija

Ivica Dacic
Prime Minister of Serbia

Ketrin Eston - Normalizacija

Catherine Ashton
EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy

Normalizacija - Hasim Taci

Hashim Thaci
Prime Minister of Kosovo *


Tomislav Nikolic - Normalizacija

Tomislav Nikolic
President of Serbia

Ivica Dacic - Normalizacija

Ivica Dacic
Prime Minister of Serbia


Atifete Jahjaga
President of Kosovo *

Normalizacija - Hasim Taci

Hashim Thaci
Prime Minister of Kosovo *


Telecommunication was one of the first issues discussed during the technical dialogue commenced in 2011, with the EU mediation. After two years of negotiations, in September 2013, an agreement was reached that enabled Kosovo to get an international country code (+383), but also brought about regulation of non-licensed operators’ work (Vip, Telekom Srbija and Telenor) in the territories populated predominantly by the Serb community.

Before this agreement, Serbian operators had been performing their activities in Kosovo without a license, along with licensed Kosovar operators, thus creating two parallel telecommunication systems. Besides, Kosovo did not have its country code, so three codes were used instead (Monaco’s +377, Slovenia’s +386 and Serbia’s +381).

Such a situation caused the treatment of certain codes as national, others as international, depending on the company operating in the given area. By the same token, citizens normally used two telephones – one for communication with persons in Serbia and the other for communication in Kosovo.

On 25 August 2015, an action plan was approved for the area of telecommunication, envisaging the sole responsibility of Kosovo for the implementation of the country code, following the International Telecommunication Union (ITU) granting a three-digit code.

On 26 January 2016, Austria applied for country code on behalf of Kosovo and in December 2016 ITU granted Kosovo a code (+383) and included Kosovo in online telecommunication registers.

The agreement envisaged regulation of non-licensed Serbian operators in Kosovo as well.

In order to ensure communication in certain areas, Kosovo agreed to issue a temporary license for mobile telephony and a permanent one for landline telephony to the MTS d.o.o. (limited liability) company as branch of Telekom Srbija. This temporary license expires by the issuance of new, unlimited license for mobile telephony, which shall result from a tendering procedure conducted in accordance with the EU standards.

In April 2020, the Regional Group for Continental Europe (one of the five synchronized ENTSO-E zones) voted for a new agreement on connecting KOSTT to ENTSO-E.

Two months later, on 30 June 2020, KOSTT signed an agreement with ENTSO-E, whereby Kosovo got its electric energy independence and sovereignty over its power network.

At a meeting held on 1 December 2020, the RGCE (Regional Group for Continental Europe) agreed that the operations of KOSTT as a regulatory area within the Albania-Kosovo regulatory block, i.e. the beginning of implementation of the agreement on connecting KOSTT to ENTSO-E, should commence on 14 December 2020.

The essential points of the agreement

Link to the text of the agreement in the following languages